ATConnect All >

Week 1 Term 3 Performing Arts News

After a busy and very successful tour to Sydney both staff and students hit the ground running this week preparing for another great term of music at ATC.

Sydney Tour Recap

Performing in Sydney

Many thanks to all involved in the Sydney World Projects Tour last week. Many families made the effort to attend some or all of the performances and events and the support was overwhelming. The Symphonic Winds and Big Band performed at an exceptionally high standard and both were rewarded with Silver Awards for their hard work. The students represented their college in an exemplary manner and acted as ATC Gentlemen at all times.
For most of these boys it was a week of firsts – first time on a plane; first time in Sydney; first time at professional performance spaces and definitely the first time at the Sydney Opera House. Please go to the World Projects Facebook Page to see many of the highlights of the tour and photos of our performances. We look forward to seeing a video of the Opera House and Angel Place performances at some time soon.

Scaling the climbing wall at the Museum Explorers Expo

Events

Brigidine Musical
‘Bring It On’ The Musical. Please come along and support the ATC boys involved in this musical. The production will be staged in the Schonell Theatre at the University of Queensland on Friday 15 July at 7pm and Saturday 16 July at 2:00pm and 6.30pm.
Tickets are $26 for Adults, $16 for students. Please “click here”: https://trybooking.com/188405 to book.
We wish the ATC boys and the Brigidine students all the best for the performance.

Cultural Support Group Meeting
Date change Wednesday 27 July 10am. Please meet at Simon’s Gourmet Gallery Moggill Rd, Chapel Hill. All Welcome.

High ropes adventure at Taronga Zoo

Jazz by the River
STOP PRESS – Please mark Saturday 15th October in your diaries for our Jazz by the River Afternoon.
This is going to be a sensational afternoon and evening of Jazz, artwork and food by the Brisbane River here at ATC.

Handbells
Monday 18 July and Sunday 24 July are compulsory rehearsals in the lead up to QCMF performances in mid August. Usual rehearsal times apply.

Key dates for Term 3

Week 2 Tues 19 July Blessing and Opening – All Choirs; Big Band; Snr Flute Ens; Snr Clarinet Ens & Guitar Ens. performing Fri 22 July Yr 5 Mass – Junior Choir
Week 3 Thurs 28 July Chamber Music Evening 6.30 pm – NJC Hall – small groups/individual AMEB student performances (performers to be confirmed) Fri 29 July NAIDOC Mass 9.20 am
Week 4 Fri 5 August Assembly performance – Concert Band (TBC)
Week 5 Wed 10 Aug EKKA public Holiday Thurs 11 Aug QCMF – from 4 pm. See enclosed Timetable Fri 12 Aug QCMF – all day. See enclosed Timetable Sat 13 Aug QCMF – Morning performances only
Week 6 Fri 19 Aug Assembly Performance – Wind Ensemble
Week 7 Sun 21 Aug Holy Family Anniversary performance – Jazz Ensemble; Choirs (TBC) Sat 27 Aug Formal Concert – ERPAC
Week 8 Fri 2 Sept Assembly Performance – Vocal Assembly
Week 9 Thurs 8 Sept Yr 4 Orientation Morning Fri 9 Sept Yr 7 Orientation Morning
Week 10 Fri 16 Sept Celebration Liturgy – Choirs and Liturgy band

Rehearsals

All other scheduled rehearsals – Instrumental, Choir and Handbells and lessons are ON
Please see the link below and on the Rehearsal tab http://www.atc.qld.edu.au/news/?c=rehearsals of the Performing Arts blog. If you are unable to attend rehearsal, please advise the conductor and Mrs Scalia via the email addresses below.

General music enquiries contact
Natalie Scalia Music Administration.
For more specific information please contact:
Mr Jason Goopy Head of the Arts and Choral Coordinator
Mr Jonathon Bolt Middle School Instrumental Music Coordinator
Mrs Catherine Esbensen Junior School Instrumental Music Coordinator
Ms Ms Barbara McGeever, Handbells Coordinator

Downloads